W I D E A W A K E thoughts

project be styled

Posted in fashion by wideawakethoughts on March 18, 2010


Today I took the longest lunch hour of my life and attended Project Be Style, hosted by Westfield Chermside. Flanked by an army of fashion journalists and members of the local style set, I sharpened my pencil and kept my score card at the ready as final year fashion students from QUT battled it out in style, charged with interpreting key winter trends with new season pieces from stores such as Cue, Sportsgirl and Diva.

The models paraded by our table one by one, each styled in a distinctive theme. From 80’s extravagance to Parisian chic, the student designers had their looks all stitched up.

I cheekily compared notes with a familiar face from across the table; Sara from Harper and Harley. I love meeting fellow bloggers in person and was super excited to introduce myself. This girl has an incredible sense of style.

As the students and models relaxed in the lane way behind the restaurant, Lucy from Westfield let me snap a couple of photos of her. I have a massive style crush on Lucy; she’s off to New York for an internship in a month or so and I have no doubt she will be fabulous. She’s just one of those girls; you know what I mean.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mez said, on March 18, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    STUNNING trophy jacket, who’s it by?

  2. Rachelle said, on March 18, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Jesse!!! Love all your pics from today! Wish I could have stayed longer! Such a fabulous event!! See you soon!!! xoxo

  3. goldene said, on March 19, 2010 at 7:05 am

    some nice shots – as always (and i wouldn’t mind to own those beige shoes in the second picture, wouldn’t mind at all actually…)

  4. ♥Lola said, on March 19, 2010 at 8:14 am

    That looks amazing! I wish I could have attended it 🙂

  5. Sara said, on March 19, 2010 at 10:53 am

    Thanks so much Jessy, i posted a couple now, stole one from jaharn’s vintage lover facebook too ha. loveee the one of luke!
    talk to you soon xox

  6. lucy said, on March 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Hey my lovely, thank you so much for coming yesterday, it was so great to see you again and this post is fantastic! Let me know when you are free and we’ll organise drinks one night soon
    Lx
    Lucy Laucht: Daily style & inspiration

  7. Peny said, on March 20, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Oh I wish I could have made it to this event! grrrr I miss out on all the fun.

  8. Debra Kolkka said, on March 21, 2010 at 3:46 am

    Hi Jess,
    I love this story. I have a Roberto Cavalli leopard cuff like the one in the photo.
    My blog is coming along. I have done posts about my trip here with Paul and am now doing local Italian things. Thanks for your help. Deb

  9. cottonsocks said, on March 23, 2010 at 1:27 am

    why haven’t i seen your blog before? i love it.
    too many things to mention.
    i wish i could pull off the s&b bodysuits
    it looks fab on you 🙂

  10. sophie. said, on April 7, 2010 at 12:28 am

    yey! congratulations to max on her win..!


Leave a Reply

