W I D E A W A K E thoughts

play nice

Posted in fashion by wideawakethoughts on March 7, 2010

Urban Outfitters bag, vintage lurex tee, trousers borrowed from Alice, Target heels and vintage jewellery.

My first day of work tomorrow and I’ve spent half an hour past my bedtime rummaging through my wardrobe trying to find an outfit that suits my mood. Alice lent me these incredible trousers but as much as I love them, when it comes to dressing for an occasion I feel most confident in something I recognise on my skin.

I’m not the sort of girl who can buy something and wear it perfectly the same day; I find my pieces work the best when I’ve worn them in a little in my mind.  I play dress ups and take time to introduce new pieces to the right crowd in my wardrobe, hoping they play nice.

An early start tomorrow; in my first few hours as the Public Relations Coordinator for Frockshop I’ll fly to Sydney  for a play date of my own with our press agency before returning to Brisbane in the evening. I love packing for day trips, it gives me an excuse to carry my favourite things with me. A sketchbook, my MacBook, my iPhone, bronzer, a handful of random jewellery; now, if I could just figure out what to wear.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alicia - Sea Of Ghosts said, on March 7, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Good luck on your first day, lovely! xo

  2. mellie said, on March 7, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    What a great outfit, I especially love the bag

  3. my favorite colour is shiny said, on March 7, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Good luck! beautiful outfit. i especially love the vintage jewellery and your shoes! xx

  4. Michelle said, on March 8, 2010 at 3:15 am

    I love your outfit ! Good luck for your job, go and get em! *thumbs up*

    love your blog, sooo lovely!

    -M

  5. confessions of a marc addict. said, on March 8, 2010 at 6:35 am

    those heels are from target?! they’re great.

  6. lucinda said, on March 8, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Good luck! I’m sure it will work out well! x

    I understand what you mean by not being able to wear something new straightaway… except for shoes!

  7. goldene said, on March 8, 2010 at 9:53 am

    hope you have a great day tomorrow…bon courage!

  8. Lee said, on March 8, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I quite love this outfit, your trousers and boots are amazing and I love your bag.

    theory of a fashion victim
    xoxo

  9. Mez said, on March 8, 2010 at 10:50 am

    Good luck lady!! I love the jitterbugz of trying something new 🙂 The shoes, fabulous, as always.

  10. smile said, on March 8, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    beautiful pendent , cool outfit

    http://factsss.blogspot.com/

  11. chichichic said, on March 9, 2010 at 7:06 am

    lovely pants!

  12. Alana said, on March 9, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    “The most beautiful makeup on a woman is passion, but cosmetics are easier to buy” – Yves Saint Laurent. So you could forget the bronzer and you’d be fine!

    How was Sydney?

  13. Chloë said, on March 13, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Love your outfit again! Shoes are gorgeous! x


Leave a Reply

