W I D E A W A K E thoughts

cigarette smoke will follow

Posted in fashion by wideawakethoughts on February 15, 2010

images courtesy of fashionista.com

One of my deepest regrets is that I was too young to experience the fashion mood of the 90’s. 90210 is a blur, Nirvana is a distant whisper and grunge was a style reserved only for the older girls.

In my memories I’m fascinated by the girls of the 90’s. When my mind is clear enough I can close my eyes and see them hanging outside the Sportsgirl store in the Canberra shopping centre, reaching into their tiny backpacks for their Mac Spice lip pencil and powder compacts. Denim jackets slouch across their skinny shoulders and pinstripes compete with velvet accents. A bare midriff isn’t out of place and where ever they go, cigarette smoke will follow.

Pouring through Polaroids snapped backstage at Alexander Wang AW10 it seems that the 23 year old designer and I share the same memories. Not a pop colour in sight, his elfin army sport slick side parted hair and all shades of grunge. Cool girls, as if plucked from suburban shopping centers themselves, provide the perfect canvas for the ultimate 90’s showcase brought to life on a runway; the perfect encore for those of us who missed out the first time.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. scottbest said, on February 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    As I am a little older than you, I fondly remember the great TV shows of the 90’s… 90210, Models Inc and melrose place. I never thought there would be anything cooler than nirvana or pearl jam or acid wash denim. Thankfully fashion has a way of re-inventing itself and all those things are cool once again!!! I loved Wang’s collection… such a talent and so young!… x

  2. PixelHazard said, on February 15, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Yeah I missed it the first time. Was banned from watching 90210 because I was too young

  3. goldene said, on February 16, 2010 at 4:24 am

    i have to say that i’m not best friend with velvet. but maybe i have to change my mind?
    (the polaroids are great by the way)

  4. lucy said, on February 17, 2010 at 7:00 am

    Can you believe this guy is only 23 and so amazingly talented and successful already Lucy Laucht: Daily style & illustrations

  5. Joanne Faith said, on February 17, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    The Polaroids are great…effortless chic…and lovely writing.

  6. lucinda said, on March 2, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Is it just me or does the collection looks better on the relaxed models backstage than it did on the runway? I think that’s the secret to Alexander Wang, his clothes are not neccessarily the most interesting to look at – it’s all about the way they feel on.


Leave a Reply

