W I D E A W A K E thoughts

natural light & neon brights

Posted in fashion by wideawakethoughts on February 3, 2010


images courtesy of Vogue Australia.

Surfs up in the March issue of Vogue Australia, with an editorial that sees bohemian muse du jour Abbey Lee Kershaw riding the electric wave on Bondi Beach. I’m usually more of a black / bone/ nude hued kind of girl but neon flashes have been on my radar since Tom Binns streaked across the accessory set with his crystal cuff bracelets with wild as the night fluro accents.

Fed up with shaggy beach blonde, on set hair stylist Kevin Murphy spun the colour wheel and dip dyed Lee’s strands with intense MAC pigments. Inspired, I phoned my hairdresser and booked an appointment to have a dip dye of my own. No flamingo strands for me though; true to my neutral preferences I’m thinking a cool ash blonde.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lucinda said, on February 3, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    I usually find Vogue Australia photo spreads somewhat lacking (compared to their international counterparts) but everytime they work with Abbey, something special happens.

    Looking forward to seeing your hair!

  2. Alicia - Sea Of Ghosts said, on February 3, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    AAA Oh my god I am doing this to my hair, too! Not a full dip dye though I think… Dip streaks? I don’t know… my hair is probably too fine for dip streaks. I think I’m going to go baby blue.
    Love this editorial!

  3. Mez said, on February 3, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    the best editorial i’ve seen in Vogue AU in forever.

    can’t wait to see your hair.

  4. goldene said, on February 3, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    that last shot is amazing!

    (and yes, i’m curious as well about the new hair color of yours)

  5. The Fashion Cloud said, on February 4, 2010 at 4:05 am

    Loved this editorial, the pictures are so fun and bright!!

    xx
    FashionCloud


Leave a Reply

