W I D E A W A K E thoughts

fashion forward

Posted in fashion by wideawakethoughts on January 8, 2010

I first turned my attention to Twitter when it landed my house mate Mr. Whipps the job of his dreams. A talented designer and photographer, Mr Whipps created a Flickr portfolio and a professional blog whilst also building a relationship with a local creative agency over Twitter. As weeks past, the agency couldn’t help but notice him and one day called him in for a meeting. They ambushed him with a contract and he now tweets from his new office.

I couldn’t resist joining the conversation. At first, Twitter intimidated me; conversation is difficult without an icebreaker. So I chose a username, added a few fashionable tweeters… and listened. I dropped in an out of conversations, clicked links to articles and discovered new tweeters through those I followed. I had created my own personal feed of tailored content streamed to me and could tune in an out whenever I liked.

I found I was learning more through my Twitter stream than I could have if I had to source the content myself and came across opportunities that would have otherwise passed me by. I attended a Retail Trends seminar hosted by Westfield (thank you @Ragtrader) and even had my style profiled between the pages of @GraziaMagAus.

For every blog I visit that has a twitter feed, there are a handful more that don’t. For fashion bloggers, who are selective in who they choose to follow, Twitter is a real time data-stream of knowledge from those in the front row (figuratively and proverbially); the ultimate in fashion forward. If you tweet, let’s get in touch. If you haven’t yet but are thinking of it, here are a few of my thoughts on how fashion bloggers can make the most of Twitter.

  • First of all, don’t feel like you have to say anything just for the sake of it. This may feel at odds with the concept of Twitter, so start by paying attention to what those you follow have to say and retweet the most interesting comments.
  • Understand your Twitter audience and tweet with them in mind. Curate your Twitter comments as you would your blog content and keep your comments relevant to your ‘blogger brand’.
  • It may sound obvious, but publish your blog developments on Twitter. Each time you write a new post, tweet it. If your blog is mentioned elsewhere in cyberspace, mention it.
  • When tweeting a blog post, post a tiny URL rather than your whole blog address. At first, I thought it was  necessary to ‘advertise’ my blog URL in the hopes people would remember it before realizing that I was wasted a large portion of my 140 characters. Seeing my URL won’t impulse people to click through nearly as much as an enticing one liner. Think of Twitter as a wink across a crowded room; be alluring.
  • Share your finds over Twitter; us bloggers are a stylish and savvy bunch so if you find an interesting article or tweet (breaking news of a new Topshop/designer collaboration for example)… tweet it! If you think you have nothing to tweet, search. Keeping up a Twitter feed is the perfect excuse to hunt for new ideas.


images courtesy of Jak & Jil Blog

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. confessions of a marc addict. said, on January 8, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    this post is SO ironic. i was just barely thinking about starting a twitter. i think i will very soon. so thanks for the tips!

  2. Jamie Madden said, on January 8, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    One of the newer features of twitter that I am finding very powerful is “lists”, it allows you to easily categorize your incoming content a lot better. This means you can separate out the different twitter feeds such as the fashion houses/labels, bloggers, mags, photos and personal things.

    These lists can also be useful for your audience to see how you organize the incoming information it allows you to quickly filter the content and pay attention to the area’s of interest at the time.

    As a promotional and communication tool, twitter seems to show now bounds. The best part about it is the fact you don’t have to read everything. If you’ve missed something, it doesn’t matter and if you’re looking for something there’s always search.

  3. Rox said, on January 8, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Wonderful post Miss Jess! I too was a bit intimidated by Twitter…and a little sceptical about how it was supposedly a great marketing tool and way to communicate. Now I’m kind of obsessed…. I think I tweeted maybe 4, 5 times today. I think that’s more than the amount of cups of water of bathroom breaks I had! This post also got me thinking…. I should probably start a new twitter to post my hangover to drink ratios and bitching about work and keep the one I have a little more, PG rated ha!

  4. kurarin said, on January 8, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    i’ve been trying to get up the nerve to start tweeting so this was extremely helpful. you have no idea how much more motivation i had than before.

  5. Kevin Colombu said, on January 8, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Great post, inspired me to jump right on to twitter.

  6. MadeleineLouise said, on January 8, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Oh yay your on twitter!
    welcome to the realms.

    cheers,
    @wekilledcouture

  7. wulan said, on January 9, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    hi..
    it such a nice post about twitter and fashion..
    it’s inspiring me.. 🙂

    http://wulanasihsetyarini.wordpress.com

  8. Mez said, on January 10, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I honestly can NOT twitter, no matter how much I attempt I still feel silly and just read tweets from the people I follow. ♥

  9. Philip Boon said, on January 10, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    How great your blog is!!! Keep up the good work, I’ll be tuning in.

  10. leeselooks said, on January 11, 2010 at 1:36 am

    hi hi b e a u t y!

    happy new year!

    thanks so much for your sweet message!
    move to nyc and we can rent a place + run around the city w/ our cameras + coffee !!!

    i am still hunting : (… it is like a job!
    let me know if you have//know any leads!

    hmmm twitter… i ‘m still not a member.
    i am still contemplating ? ? ? i just feel like i’m such a bore and that no one will care what i am up too ; )
    oh man- but maybe once i move to ny ? i dont know! i find it all a bit weird, but then again the times are changing…

    thanks again for your sweetness.

    xxoo

  11. David Whipps said, on January 11, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Thanks for the mention Jess! When are you stopping by the studio again?

  12. amie said, on January 11, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    thanks for the sweet comment on my blog hun!
    wow you’ve really opened my eyes on twitter,
    at first i was really sceptical, i thought there’d just be a lot of people mini-blogging inane things day-to-day, which is evident in a lot of celebrity twitters
    but as a networking/communication tool its quite brilliant!
    unfortunately i have an ancient phone not conducive to twitter-ability 😛


Leave a Reply

