W I D E A W A K E thoughts

the heat is on

Posted in fashion by wideawakethoughts on December 23, 2009

images courtesy of models.com

Russh Australia brings the heat with a steamy beach-side photo shoot featuring Erin Heartherton and Jacquelyn Jablonski wrapped in Proenza Schouler’s signature body con pieces.

I apologize for not posting more about my New York trip… I have a little something in the works, but  I have had a few emails from readers who are curious about the best places to shop. I have put together a list in case any of you are planning a New York City visit any time soon.

Bergdorf Goodman was the most luxurious department store I have ever experienced. My friend printed me the floor plan to take with me and I politely thanked her whilst secretly thinking it wouldn’t be necessary. I got lost somewhere between Alexander Wang and Alberta Ferretti… take your passport (they have a discount for travelers) and a compass.

Takishimaya on 5th Avenue is the most incredible Japanese department store. I had Easton Pearson flashbacks when I ran my fingers through a tray of brightly hued accessories.

The Prada store on Broadway in Soho is breathtaking. Just go and see to say you did.

Keep a look out for pop up stores, they are hidden away in almost every street. Kevin and I found an incredible one in Soho between Broadway and Lafayette that had a host of Mike & Chris leather jackets for pennies.

Urban Outfitters is well priced and strikingly on trend. I found an amazing suede bag unlike anything I had ever seen in Australia and it cost about as much as it would to ship it home to me.

Peek in at the Acne studio on Greene Street and the Opening Ceremony store around the corner. Go to the Acne store first… they have maps that show you how to get to Opening Ceremony.

If you have shopped in New York, where did you go?

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. confessions of a marc addict. said, on December 23, 2009 at 9:28 am

    what could be better than the combination of proenza schoulder and russh?

  2. Mez said, on December 23, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Russh does it again! Photos look amazing. xox

  3. The Owl Diary said, on December 24, 2009 at 4:20 am

    I dream of shopping in New York. & I love Urban Outfitters.
    xx

  4. BowsNHearts said, on December 24, 2009 at 6:32 am

    I haven’t been to NY before but it seems like a shopping haven!

    I have been to Takashimaya in Singapore but am not sure if they are the same?

    NY seems like a lot of fun…would really love to visit it one day. Do post some photos of your trip if you can. 🙂

  5. Nadia said, on December 24, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I went to Takishimaya, & adored it! Did you go to the teahouse on the bottom level? It’s like a secret haven. I had a green tea creme brulee there that blew my mind.

    There were so many great places to shop in New York – the Rick Owens store was incredible, such a beautiful & stark place. I also loved Bloomingdales, where I bought my Sam Edelman Zoe boots. They also stocked All Saints, which is one of my favourite brands from the UK. Soho was FULL of amazing shops – Opening Ceremony was a definite standout.

  6. Camilla said, on December 24, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    ahah, Thanks for teh comment xx
    And no Im not austrailan, Im just on Holiday in THE CARRIBEAN AHAH 🙂 xxx

  7. leeselooks said, on December 25, 2009 at 12:47 am

    h e y beauty!

    merry x-mas.

    thanks so much for your message- and do not apologize! ! ! you are too sweet + such a busy girl. do not worry AT ALL.

    love your blog. heaps and heaps!
    so jealous you are in the hot summer sun – these pics make me long for it!

    ah nyc. i move in a month! you will have to come for another visit 😉
    oh man- the stores are just too amazing for words. . . i am going to be a broke student… so browsing will become my hobby of choice.

    sending love + blessings

    xxoo

  8. MelanieLikes said, on December 26, 2009 at 10:40 am

    DAAAANG. SUPER STEAMY! Hahaha. 🙂


Leave a Reply

