W I D E A W A K E thoughts

grace.

Posted in 1 by wideawakethoughts on December 17, 2009

Grace Coddington is the kind of stylist who weaves reality into dreams, transforming a structured photographic spread into a delicate narrative. She first caught my eye in The September Issue documentary and I’ve been curious about her ever since.

Quietly assured and softly spoken, Coddington pours artistic integrity into the pages while not being swept up in the celebrity frenzy that seems synonymous with fashion these days. Fashionologie whispers that Coddington is in talks to produce her book Catwalk Cats into a film.


“Do you ever see me giving interviews? I’m never one of those people talking into a microphone at the end of a show. I’m not prepared to crush some poor designer who’s just spent six months slaving over a collection. I think it’s horrible and they all [the pundits] talk about themselves. Plus, the questions are so stupid . . . I hate trends. And you know the question they always ask me at shows; ‘What’s the latest trend?’”

I’m dying to hear more from this woman. Imagine the stories she could tell.

images courtesy of hanelli, racked.com & obsessee.typepad

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. goldene said, on December 17, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    i totally agree with you. i also learned the first time about her through the documentary which is maybe not that surprising since it seems that she is not too eager being in the spotlight.

    “the idea that a camera crew were coming in to vogue for nine months horrified me. for the first six months i closed my door and got on with my job within my office until anna [wintour] basically put a gun to my head.”

    well, i’m somehow glad she did.

  2. VintageYSL said, on December 18, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    She is amazing! I sometimes think she would do a better job then Wintour lol.

  3. Taryn said, on December 18, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I love grace and her work, she reminds me of a character out of a fashion fairy tale

  4. Bambam said, on December 21, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Isn’t she fascinating…? Infact, i find her quite magical. Thanks for the comment, actually very glad to have found your lovely blog. Im now stalking you, haha 😉 Hope the rain has eased off, I want to see the outfit post with the CC t! x

  5. tommiboy said, on December 21, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    hey there.
    thnx heaps for your comment on my blog. i really appreciate the encouragement.

    whats your blog based upon? is this all your own work?

    thnx.


Leave a Reply

