W I D E A W A K E thoughts

the steal shoes

Posted in 1 by wideawakethoughts on December 7, 2009

The Balencies and I have a history. We first met at the Tribune and it was love at first sight. Despite a broken buckle and a few signs of wear from a photoshoot, the $50 price tag made them a steal.

I wore these shoes to pieces. I was in Paris when the heel snapped off. Lauriane arranged to have them repaired by Balenciaga but leaving them in France was painful. Months after they had been posted back I tore through the leather in two different places. It was time for me to let them go.

Last night Kevin took me to Filenes Basement and there they were. I thought they were lost forever. Size 40, brand new and $199… a steal.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. maddie.s said, on December 7, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    so very jealous. you are looking divine & congrats on the internship. xo.

  2. Lucia said, on December 7, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    You were bound to be together

  3. Filene's Basement said, on December 8, 2009 at 5:20 am

    What a great story. We just featured your blog post on our Filene’s Basement Facebook page. Next time you find a great deal, post it to our wall. We love hearing about your great finds!

  4. Brian said, on December 8, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    These shoes are absolutely gorgeous!

  5. Sam said, on December 10, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    $199 Balenciagas??

    I might die now.

  6. fashion roadkill said, on December 18, 2009 at 2:23 am

    oh. my. god. $199? for THE Balenciagas? holy eff.

  7. Pat Boudrot said, on December 18, 2009 at 5:16 am

    What a deal! I just bought a pair of Ralph Lauren shoes – originally $199 at Filene’s (I don’t even know what the comp price was in other stores), but I paid $24—of course now I have to buy something to go with them…

  8. lostoutthere said, on December 23, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    OMG….Where I can find the Balenciaga’s at this price??? Amazing….U’re lucky!


Leave a Reply

