W I D E A W A K E thoughts

tanked

Posted in 1 by wideawakethoughts on November 21, 2009


I can honestly say that I have never before typed a blog post from 38000 feet above ground, but as I type this I am gazing out my window somewhere over Iowa, just a handful of hours away from New York. Despite an unplanned stop over at an airport near Los Angeles and a seven hour delay (S E V E N  H O U R S) I’m feeling surprisingly fresh and inspired to write. The freshness is courtesy of dry shampoo (a miracle for anyone with a fringe) and the inspiration ….

Last time I was in New York (about nine months ago, at the end of a two-month holiday with Kevin) I purchased a copy of TANK magazine. One of the most exciting things about an international trip is the selection of magazines that you never find back home; they are treasures. I ended up buying more magazines than I was able to afford in my luggage allowance, so I left them behind like a trail of pebbles, discarded in a Parisian hotel room and left sneakily in my friend’s London bedroom. But not TANK.

The only reason I held onto TANK was because I never got a chance to read it. Amongst all those stop overs, bus rides, plan trips and hours I never found a moment to pour through the pages. On my way out the door yesterday morning, the striking cover caught my eye from beneath a pile of notes in my wardrobe. On impulse, I took it with me.

On my last visit to New York I wandered the streets, exploring the surface level of the city, all the while aware that I wanted to feel something more.  I left the city with the unread TANK and a relatively untouched must-do list. This time I am prepared for the pace, the cold, the frenzy, and I’ve read through TANK twice. I’ve placed it in the pocket in the seat in front of mine  – I can leave it there.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rebecca. said, on November 21, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Have fun! I miss you!

  2. kelly said, on November 22, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    have the most amazing time jc!! looking forward to many more posts of your travels …

    miss u already xo

  3. Tan said, on November 22, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Enjoy Lucette my love… and take lots of pics x

  4. MadeleineLouise said, on November 23, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    im so jealous that your nearly there!

    you must visit trash and vaudeville for me.. if you feel like sinking above and below ground level.

    Good Luck!
    wekilledcouture

  5. Stewart Cameron said, on November 23, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Jess,

    You and Kevin have a great time.

    Love Mum and Dad


Leave a Reply

