W I D E A W A K E thoughts

one week and a handful of days

Posted in 1 by wideawakethoughts on November 9, 2009

wide awake thoughts new york

wide awake thoughts new york

Bianca Spender blazer, Acne Beat heels,  Acne boyfriend jeans, vintage Balenciaga sunglasses & a calico bag. photography by Kevin.

Ask any Australian student and they will tell you how difficult it is to gain international work experience in the fashion industry. Being so far away from the international fashion capitals incurs an expense of time and money that can take years to accumulate while aspirations gather dust.

Just ask Executive Vice President of Global Communications at Calvin Klein, Malcolm Carfrae, who mused in the latest issue of Vogue Australia, “If you’re going to do work experience in New York, how do you do that? Unless you have incredible contacts and a lot of money, it’s just clearly an impossible thing”.

A few weeks ago I blogged about my amazing stroke of luck, winning a ticket to Los Angeles, which all of a sudden made a plane ticket to New York much more affordable. I don’t have a lot of money and I don’t consider myself to be a particularly well-connected person yet but in just one week and a handful of days from now I will be nervously approaching the steps of the agency who has agreed to take me on as an intern.

I am beyond excited at the prospect of absorbing absolutely everything I can about the style and culture of this industry that well and truly has me by the heart strings. As long as I have love and luck on my side, this could just be the trip of a lifetime.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jeannette said, on November 10, 2009 at 4:53 am

    Jesse, you are perfectly “trop stylee” (ask Kevin) the photos are GREAT!!! bravo I love your blog!

  2. MadeleineLouise said, on November 11, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Congratulations on your tickets to LA.
    Im so insanely jealous.. im still a year 11 stuck in Brisbane!
    But im more determined than anyone i know to get to new york (more than any teenager who simply says their dream is New York)
    Congratulations again though.

    Cheers.
    wekilledCOUTURE.


Leave a Reply

