W I D E A W A K E thoughts

why S L

Posted in fashion by wideawakethoughts on August 30, 2009

My good friend Mr Whipps recently traveled down the south coast and paid a visit to every antique store he came across. I lent him a vintage burgundy leather trunk to fill with wares. In appreciation he kept his peepers peeled until he found me the perfect souvenir … Yves Saint Laurent Retrospective, circa 1987.

YSL-cover
The book was published by the Art Gallery of New South Wales in commemoration of the Yves Saint Laurent exhibition that traveled from Paris via New York to Sydney. I poured myself a wine, curled up on the couch and indulged in the faded pages of backstage snaps and runway looks.

YSL-pages

I love the idea that this book had been pre-loved. I imagine it’s previous owner and I may have had the same taste, and the odd torn page was of a look that she loved so much that she had to plaster it on her wall like I would have, too inspired to let it hold court the way the editor intended.

I caught my breath at this page.

YSL-Photo

Leave a Reply

